In My Mosque by M. O. Yuksel and Hatem Ali

Regular price $30.00 Save $-30.00
1 in stock

By M. O. Yuksel, Illustrated by Hatem Ali, Farshore Picture Books GB, paperback, 32 pages

"This marvellous and welcoming book on mosques, Muslims, and Islam is a must, offering foundational knowledge on the world's second-largest religion." --School Library Journal (starred review)

Step in and discover all the rituals and wonder of the mosque in this lyrical debut picture book from M. O. Yuksel, with gorgeous artwork from New York Times bestselling illustrator Hatem Aly. A great conversation starter in the home or classroom, this book is perfect for fans of All Are Welcome and The Proudest Blue.

No matter who you are or where you're from, everyone is welcome here. From grandmothers reading lines of the Qur'an and the imam telling stories of living as one, to meeting new friends and learning to help others, mosques are centres for friendship, community, and love.

M. O. Yuksel's beautiful text celebrates the joys and traditions found in every mosque around the world and is brought to life with stunning artwork by New York Times bestselling illustrator Hatem Aly (Yasmin series, The Proudest Blue, The Inquisitor's Tale). The book also includes a backmatter with an author's note, a glossary, and more information about many historical and significant mosques around the world.

About the author:

M.O. Yuksel is a children's book author who grew up attending many beautiful mosques around the world. With roots in Turkey and Uzbekistan, she loves writing about diverse cultures and fascinating historical figures.

Hatem Aly is an Egyptian-born illustrator whose work has been published all over the world. When he was a child, he would imagine shapes forming on the mosque’s carpet if he stared down long enough, which then swiftly disappeared and transformed into beautiful patterns when he looked up. He is pretty much the same as a grown-up, too. His illustrations have earned multiple starred reviews and positions on the New York Times bestseller list including The Proudest Blue (with Ibtihaj Muhammad & S.K. Ali), the Yasmin series (with Saadia Faruqi), and The Inquisitor’s Tale (with Adam Gidwitz). He currently lives in beautiful New Brunswick, Canada, with his wife, son, and more pets than people. 

In My Mosque by M. O. Yuksel and Hatem Ali
In My Mosque by M. O. Yuksel and Hatem Ali
In My Mosque by M. O. Yuksel and Hatem Ali
In My Mosque by M. O. Yuksel and Hatem Ali
In My Mosque by M. O. Yuksel and Hatem Ali